Was wir tun

Just Words ist eine Gruppe von erfahrenen Übersetzern und Dolmetschern, die sich gemeinsam für soziale, wirtschaftliche und ökologische Gerechtigkeit einsetzen. Wir instituieren eine Arbeitergemeinschaft, die nach dem Prinzip der gerechten Verteilung von Arbeit, Ressourcen und Verantwortlichkeiten organisiert ist. Zu unseren Zielen gehört die Unterstützung von Migranten, Organisationen auf Gemeindeebene, innovativen Unternehmen, die sich für ökologische Nachhaltigkeit einsetzen, und anderen Einzelpersonen und Gruppen, die unsere Vision teilen. Wir verwirklichen diese Ziele durch das Angebot einer Reihe sprachbezogener Dienstleistungen, einschließlich von pro bono Aufträgen. Diese Dienstleistungen umfassen Übersetzungen, Dolmetschen, Untertitelung, Lektorat und Textaufträge. Wir sind der Meinung, dass wir diese Ziele erreichen können, wenn wir ein gerechtes und nachhaltiges Arbeitsumfeld, das den Wert unserer Arbeit schätzt, schaffen und aufrechterhalten können. Momentan arbeiten unsere Mitglieder in den Sprachen Englisch, Spanisch, Deutsch und Katalanisch. Wird sind zudem stets bestrebt, neue Mitglieder einzubeziehen, die auch in anderen Sprachen (einschließlich außereuropäischer Sprachen) arbeiten. Wenn Sie Interesse haben sich uns anzuschließen, senden Sie uns bitte eine Nachricht über unser Kontaktformular.

Unser Verlauf

In Anbetracht der realen Gegebenheiten von Einkommensungleichheiten bieten wir nach Möglichkeit Staffelungssätze an. Gleichzeitig würdigen wir als Arbeitergemeinschaft das Übersetzen und Dolmetschen als Beruf und erkennen die Notwendigkeit eines wettbewerbsfähigen Lohns an. Die einstweiligen Optionen der Staffelung und des Freiwilligendienstes erlauben es uns mit kleinen Unternehmen und gemeinnützigen Organisationen zusammenzuarbeiten, die die Übersetzungskosten über längere Zeiträume verteilt in Raten zahlen können. Entsprechend unserer Mission vernetzen wir uns auch mit Freiwilligen und ersuchen Zuschüsse um Einzelpersonen und Gemeindegruppen den Zugang zu Übersetzungsdiensten zu ermöglichen, die ansonsten für diese unerschwinglich wären. Bitte senden Sie uns eine E-Mail an info@justwordscoop.net um Informationen zu unseren Optionen für eine Staffelzahlung zu erhalten.

MitarbeiterInnen

Jocelyn Langer

Jocelyn Langer ist Spanischlehrerin und Übersetzerin mit den Schwerpunkten Übersetzung und Interpretation medizinischer Publikationen, pädagogischer Texte sowie der Übersetzung und dem Dolmetschen für Bewegungen sozialer Gerechtigkeit. Sie betreut kollaborative Übersetzungsprojekte und arbeitet als Vermittlerin zwischen Übersetzern und Gemeindegruppen, die nach Übersetzungen suchen. Jocely ist außerdem auf das Verfassen und das Lektorat von PR- und Informationsmaterialien in einfacher Sprache spezialisiert.

Unser Team

Joe Keady

Joe Keady ist seit 2008 als Übersetzer für Deutsch und Spanisch ins Englische tätig. Er bearbeitet hauptsächlich rechtliche und technische Dokumente sowie Anzeigentexte. Seit seiner Arbeit bei der DEFA Film Library in Amherst, Massachusetts im Jahr 2016 untertitelt er auch Film- und Videoveröffentlichungen. Darüber hinaus ist Joe Redakteur für die Reihe Barricade: A Journal of Antifascism and Translation.

Elena Igartuburu

Elena Igartuburu (PhD.) ist eine erfahrene Übersetzerin und Dolmetscherin, die in Englisch, Spanisch, Katalanisch und Französisch arbeitet. Sie hat in beiden Bereichen in verschiedenen Fachgebieten gearbeitet, von der Übersetzung akademischer Texte über Konferenzdolmetschen bis hin zum Dolmetschen in juristischen und medizinischen Umfeldern. Momentan spezialisiert sie sich in der Theaterübersetzung, während sie außerdem in West Massachusetts dolmetscht.

Ania Micińska

Ania Micińska lebt derzeit in West Massachusetts und ist eine polnisch-englische Übersetzerin, die sich auf Kunst und Geisteswissenschaften spezialisiert hat. Sie hat als Redakteurin und interne Übersetzerin für Culture.pl gearbeitet, eine Online-Publikation zur weltweiten Förderung der polnischen Kultur. Sie hat mehrere Kunstbücher und Kataloge für große Kulturinstitutionen in Polen übersetzt. Darüber hinaus hat sie Erfahrung in der Übersetzung von Drehbüchern, Marketingkampagnen und wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten.

Ania Micińska lebt derzeit in West Massachusetts und ist eine polnisch-englische Übersetzerin, die sich auf Kunst und Geisteswissenschaften spezialisiert hat. Sie hat als Redakteurin und interne Übersetzerin für Culture.pl gearbeitet, eine Online-Publikation zur weltweiten Förderung der polnischen Kultur. Sie hat mehrere Kunstbücher und Kataloge für große Kulturinstitutionen in Polen übersetzt. Darüber hinaus hat sie Erfahrung in der Übersetzung von Drehbüchern, Marketingkampagnen und wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten.

Liana Foxvog

Unser Team

© 2020 by Just Words Translators and Interpreters Cooperative

What we do

Just Words is comprised of experienced translators and interpreters who share a commitment to social, economic, and environmental justice. We are building a worker-owned cooperative organized on the principle of equitable distribution of work, resources, and responsibilities. Our objectives include supporting migrants, community-based organizations, innovative companies working for ecological sustainability, and other individuals and groups that share our vision by offering a range of language-related services, including pro bono work as needed. These services include translation, interpreting, editing, subtitling, and writing. We believe that we can achieve these goals while building and maintaining an equitable and sustainable working environment that recognizes the value of the work that we do. At the moment, our members work in English, Spanish, German, and Catalan, however were are eager to bring in people who work in other languages too (including non-European languages). If you're interested in joining us, send us a message via our contact form.

How we work

In acknowledgement of the reality of income inequality, we offer sliding scale rates whenever possible. At the same time, as a workers collective we honor translation and interpreting as a profession and recognize the importance of paying a competitive wage. Sliding scale and volunteer services as an interim measure allow us to work with small businesses and nonprofits that are slowly building translation costs into tight budgets over time. In accordance with our mission, we also network with volunteers and seek grants to help individuals and community groups have access to translation services that would be otherwise unaffordable. Please email us at info@justwordscoop.net to inquire about our sliding scale options.

Who we are

Jocelyn Langer

Steering Committee

Jocelyn Langer is a Spanish teacher and translator, with a focus on medical translation and interpretation, educational texts, and translation and interpreting for social justice movements. She manages collaborative translation projects and facilitates connections between translators and community groups seeking translation. Jocelyn also specializes in plain language editing and messaging for advertising and outreach materials.

Worker-Owners

Joe Keady

Steering Committee

Joe Keady has been a working German- and Spanish-to-English translator since 2008. He mostly works with legal and technical documents as well as ad copy, but has also translated two books of historiography (so far), a number of essays for the value-critique journal Krisis, and is working on a translation of Rudolf Rocker's memoirs for PM Press. He has also been subtitling film and video releases since 2016, beginning with his work as the in-house subtitler at the DEFA Film Library, and is a member of the editorial collective for Barricade: A Journal of Antifascism and Translation.

Elena Igartuburu

Steering Committee

Elena Igartuburu (PhD.) is an experienced translator and interpreter working in English, Spanish, Catalan, and French. She has worked in a variety of fields in both areas, from the translation of academic texts and conference interpreting to legal and medical interpreting. Currently, she specializes in theater translation while working consistently interpreting in Western Mass.

Ania Micińska

Steering Committee

Ania Micińska, currently residing in Western MA, is a Polish-English translator specializing in arts and humanities. She has worked as an editor and in-house translator for Culture.pl, an online publication focused on promoting Polish culture worldwide. She has translated multiple art books and albums for major cultural institutions in Poland. She also has experience translating film scripts, marketing campaigns, and academic papers.

Liana Foxvog

Spanish-English Interpreter

Liana Foxvog is a Spanish-English interpreter experienced in working with unions, worker centers, cooperatives, and immigrant rights groups. Her approach is informed by Roberto Tijerina’s Interpreting for Social Justice workshop for community interpreters and two decades of involvement in the global justice movement. She has coordinated interpreter teams for up to seven simultaneous languages at international conferences. Liana holds a Master’s degree in Labor Studies from the University of Massachusetts, Amherst.

Allison Castillo Rosenblatt

Spanish-English Interpreter/Translator

Allison Castillo Rosenblatt is an English/Spanish interpreter/translator whose native language is English. She has worked professionally in the field for the past 6 years with a focus on interpreting for legal, social justice, and educational organizations. She can offer interpretation both consecutively or simultaneously, in person or virtually, or translations. In addition to working as a freelance interpreter, she currently works at the New England High School Equivalency Program, coordinating an online GED program for migrant farmworkers in Massachusetts.

Lea Chiara

English-Spanish Translator

Lea Chiara is a Spanish teacher and English/Spanish translator who lives and works in western Massachusetts. She has five years of experience translating educational materials and medical documents, and volunteering with local social justice and food justice initiatives in the Pioneer Valley. She also has experience with both simultaneous and consecutive interpretation, and some translation of legal documents. She is passionate about language justice and the Spanish language, and thrilled to be working with Just Words!

© 2020 by Just Words Translators and Interpreters Cooperative